Board of Trustees

Officers of the Board, 2023-2024

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of this College of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA). Bishops of the four ELCA synods related to the College (South Carolina, Southeastern, Florida-Bahamas, and Caribbean) are invited to attend meetings of the Board; one of the Bishops regularly serves as a Trustee. The Board may have no more than twenty-nine members, six of whom have their election ratified by one of the three supporting synods of the ELCA. At least 50 percent of the Trustees shall be either members of congregations of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America or graduates of Newberry College.

The President of the Newberry College Alumni Association Board of Managers, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Newberry College Foundation Board of Visitors, and the Chairman of the Newberry College Athletic Club Board of Advisors, serve as *ex-officio* members with full voting rights.

The President of the College, a representative of the Division of Higher Education and Schools, ELCA, and the Chair of the Faculty Council serve as *ex-officio* non-voting members of the Board.

Trustees, other than *ex-officio* members, are elected to three-year terms and shall be eligible for re-election to a maximum of three (3) full consecutive terms. Trustees who have served for nine (9) consecutive years (exclusive of any partial term) shall be eligible for re-election following a one-year hiatus. Officers of the Board must be members of the Board; the Board's officers are elected annually and will be eligible to serve for a maximum of three (3) consecutive years.

The Board normally meets on campus two or three times each year in order to maintain first-hand contact with developments at the College and exercise its governance responsibilities.

Kevin Raines Chapin, SC

1

Newberry College Catalog

Kevin B. SteelmanColumbia, SC William (Bill) Steen Greenville, SC Joe Trainor Newberry, SC Ned Tupper Beaufort, SC Eric Wells Irmo, SC John Winarchick Mt. Pleasant, SC (Terms Expiring 2025) Rob BestPawleys Island, SC (Terms Expiring 2026) D. D. BoydSimpsonville, SC Sylvester ColemanGreenwood, SC Mark Hammond Spartanburg, SC Richard Herrington Franklin, TN Hap Pearce Charlotte, NC Lisa Wagner Pickens, SC Lenna Young Gilbert, SC Alumni Representative Jessica Shealy......President of Alumni Association (2023-2024) **ELCA Representative** Lamont Wells Executive Director of Network of ELCA Colleges and Universities (NECU) **ELCA Bishop Representative** Kevin StricklandSoutheastern Synod ELCA Bishop Newberry College Athletic Club Todd Sanders Newberry, SC Chairman of Board of Advisors Ex-Officio Maurice W. Scherrens President of the College Sara Peters...... Chair of Faculty Council (2023-2024)

Faculty Representatives to the Academic Affairs and Honorary Degrees Committee

Newberry College Catalog

Tracy Power, Associate Professor of History (2023)

Aslynn Halvorson-Weaver, Assist. Professor of Exercise Science & Human Performance (2023)

Honorary Life Members of The Board

James A. Gerding, D.C.S. Atlanta, GA

Dan B. Page Fort Myers, FL

Michael E. Reid Newberry, SC

John K. VanDuys, J.D.Columbia, SC

David L. VorpagelOviedo, FL

William P. Walker, Jr. Lexington, SC

Billye L. West Newberry, SC

John C. Yates, J.D. Atlanta, GA

Bishops of Synods Supporting Newberry College

Virginia Aebischer,Columbia, SC Bishop of the South Carolina Synod, ELCA

Kevin L. Strickland Atlanta, GA

Bishop of the Southeastern Synod, ELCA

Pedro M. Suarez Tampa, FL Bishop of the Florida-Bahamas Synod, ELCA

Idalia C. Negron Caamano San Juan, PR

Bishop of the Caribbean Synod, ELCA

Newberry College Catalog